Khaite and Willy Chavarria Win Big At The CFDAs

Last night the Council of Fashion Designers of America held their annual awards ceremony. Presented alongside Amazon Fashion, the gala celebrates the top talents of the industry. Held at the American Museum of Natural History, the night kicked off with a red carpet as designers and their celebrity guests posed for the photos. Among those making an entrance included Kim Kardashian, clad in custom Chrome Hearts, and Lola Tung, who wore a sparkling translucent Balmain minidress. From there everyone made their way to cocktail hour before heading into the Hall of Ocean Life to dine under the massive blue whale.

Thom Browne, the current CFDA chairman, opened the evening with welcome remarks before introducing host Anne Hathaway. Hathaway, clad in a denim-inspired Ralph Lauren gown, stepped in at the last minute to replace Sarah Jessica Parker. Along with Narciso Rodriguez, she presented the first award of the evening, American Womenswear Designer of the Year, to Catherine Holstein of Khaite. This marks back-to-back wins for Holstein, a favorite for her sleek and elegant designs. To announce the American Menswear Designer of the Year, J Balvin and Greg Lauren took the stage, handing the trophy over to Willy Chavarria.

Ashley and Mary Kate Olsen took home the American Accessory Designer of the Year, for their work at The Row, by Ayo Edebiri and Prabal Gurung. The final award that wasn’t announced prior to the evening, Shop with Google American Emerging Designer of the Year, went to Rachel Scott of Diotima. Scott, one to watch, accepted the trophy while noting that New York made her brand flourish.

Other honorees of the evening included Serena Williams, who received the Fashion Icon award fittingly in a Thom Browne ball gown. Gwyneth Paltrow, for her work at goop, earned the Innovation Award while the Eugenia Sheppard Media award went to Alina Cho. New York fashion stalwarts, Vera Wang and Maria Cornejo, were also acknowledged, the former receiving the Board of Directors Tribute and the latter given the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award. The Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert was given to Domenico De Sole and Mara Hoffman took home the Environmental Sustainability award. And Jonathan Anderson, for his work at both his namesake label and Loewe, accepted the International Award.

See all of the red carpet and winners images along with other highlights in our gallery below.

Photography courtesy of the CFDA

Shopping cart
There are no products in the cart!
Continue shopping