The CFDA Nominees For 2016 Have Been Announced

Marc Jacobs CFDAs

During the night, whilst I was undertaking less important post-work pursuits such as eating/sleeping, the nominees for the 2016 CFDA awards were announced. Or, as many like to deem them – fashion’s Oscars. Or, as we do – the ceremony where Rihanna turned up in that sheer dress and matching turban. Oh, the splendour! Now, we can’t promise that anybody will appear is such a bold ensemble to this year’s awards, but what we can promise that competition is just as piping hot. Like a large bite of just-out-the-oven fashion pie. For womenswear, our new pals the Proenza boys (watch us get up close and personal here) go against Mr Marc Jacobs (pictured), whilst Thom Browne and Public School dual it out for menswear glory (alongside others very talented sorts, obviously). And then there’s the prestigious honours – Gucci’s long-locked visionary Alessandro Michele gets the International Award and the departed but not forgotten David Bowie takes home the Board of Director’s Tribute. Congratulations to all the nominees – the countdown to June 6 begins…

Womenswear Designer of the Year

Marc Jacobs
Proenza Schouler: Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez
Altuzarra: Joseph Altuzarra
Rodarte: Kate and Laura Mulleavy
The Row: Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen

Menswear Designer of the Year

Thom Browne
Public School: Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne
Rag & Bone: David Neville and Marcus Wainwright
Todd Snyder
Tim Coppens

Accessories Designer of the Year

Irene Neuwirth
The Row: Ashley Olsen & Mary-Kate Olsen
Altuzarra: Joseph Altuzarra
Mansur Gavriel: Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel
Proenza Schouler: Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez

Swarovski Award for Womenswear

Monse: Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia
Brandon Maxwell
Ryan Roche

Swarovski Award for Menswear

Orley: Alex Orley, Matthew Orley, Samantha Orley
John Elliott
Gypsy Sport: Rio Uribe

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design

Brother Vellies: Aurora James
Paul Andrew
Gigi Burris

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award

Norma Kamali

The Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard

Imran Amed, editor in chief of The Business of Fashion

The Founder’s Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert

Donna Karan

International Award

Gucci: Alessandro Michele

Board of Directors’ Tribute Award

David Bowie

Photograph by Jason Lloyd-Evans, backstage at Marc Jacobs AW16

Shopping cart0
There are no products in the cart!
Continue shopping